The State Special Branch is functioning under the control of an Additional Director General of Police (Intelligence). At present, there are four wings functioning under the State Special Branch viz. 1) Intelligence 2) Internal Security 3) Security & 4) Administration. The following divisions are functioning under Internal Security, i.e 1) Extremist Cell 2) Communal Cell 3) Organized Crimes (IS), 4) Digital Surveillance Unit (DSU) & 5) Digital Security Data Bank (DSDB). Security Wing consists of VVIP/VIP Security Team, BDDS Wing, Foreigners Wing and Passport & Verification Wing.

State Special Branch (SSB)

In the Headquarters, the ADGP is assisted by Inspector General of Police(Intelligence), Inspector General of Police (Security), Inspector General of Police (Internal Security), Dy. Inspector General of Police(Intelligence) and 4 Superintendents of Police. There are 4 Range offices headed by a SP in each Range and under them are 17 Detachments in the districts headed by DySPs. In addition, Internal Security Wings are functioning in 4 Range offices under the command of DySPs.

The State Special Branch is responsible for collecting, assessing and collating intelligence of significance and for communicating the same to the Government through periodic and special reports. The SSB is functioning as the eyes and ears of the Government.

Last updated on Wednesday 28th of July 2021 PM