Kerala Railway Police (Government Railway Police) look after the security of the Passengers and their belongings both at Railway Stations and inside the trains which extends 1027 kms Railway line in the State. It is functioning incorporate with Railway Protection Force (RPF).

Railway Police Kerala

Railway Police Head Quarters is placed at Mettukkada, Thycaud, Thiruvananthapuram. SP Railways is the unit head with all Kerala GRP jurisdictions, under the supervision of ADGP(Intelligence & Railways). A DYSP is supervising the Administration part of this office. A Rail Alert Control Room is functioning at RPHQ 24x7.

There are 13 Railway Police Stations in Kerala Government Railway Police unit. They are located in the main Railway station premises at Trivandrum Central, Parassala, Kollam, Punalur, Alappuzha, Kottayam, Ernakulam Junction, Thrissur, Shornur, Palakkad, Kozhikode, Kannur&Kasargod. There are 2 Subdivisions (Ernakulam& Palakkad) under the supervision of DYSPs and 4 Circles (Thiruvananthapuram, Ernakulam, Shornur, Kozhikkode) under the supervision of IPs, in this unit.

A Crime Records Bureau is working as a Sub Unit of RPHQ, placedat the same compound, under the supervision of a DYSP and which communicates the crime details under Kerala Railway Unit, with SCRB, SSB HQ, RPF, Railway Board etc.

Last updated on Thursday 26th of November 2020 AM