Police Districts

For the proper administration the geographical area of state is divided as 19 police districts as five Commissionarates and 14 police districts units as shown above. Thiruvananthapuram City and Kochi City are headed by District Police Chiefs of the rank of Inspector Generals of Police and the police district of Kozhikode city is headed by an officer of the rank of Deputy Inspector General of Police whereas heads of remaining police district units are headed by the rank of Superintendent of Police.

The City Commissionarates are assisted by Deputy Commissioner of Police of the rank of Deputy Inspector Generals of Police/ Superintendents of Police. All District Police officers are assisted by Additional Superintendents of Police and ACs/DySPs are designated as Sub Divisional Police Officers, each in charge of a Sub Division. A Sub Division is further divided into Police Station areas, each of which is under a Inspector of Police with Sub Inspectors,Additional Sub Inspectors, Head Constables and Constables. Some Police Stations have outposts attached to them, each of which is manned by a Head Constable assisted by some Constables.

Last updated on Monday 13th of July 2020 11:12:51 AM