Forensic Science Laboratory


The Kerala State Forensic Science laboratory was established in 1961 in Thiruvananthapuram Dr.Thangavelu, the then Principal of the Medical College, Thiruvananthapuram was the first Honorary Director of the laboratory.

At present, the laboratory consists of a Headquarters lab situated in Police Head Quarters, Thiruvananthapuram and two fully functional Regional Forensic Science Labs at Thrissur and Kannur respectively. There are 19 District Mobile Forensic Labs( in all Police Districts. One new Regional FSL at Kochi has been commissioned and is about to start functioning. The Headquarters lab at Thiruvananthapuram has eleven divisions: Physics, Ballistics, Biology, Serology, DNA, Documents, Documents- Civil, Cyber, Chemistry, Explosives and Polygraph .

Forensic experts examine the scene of crime and material objects seized by investigators and submit their reports. They are called upon to give evidence relating to their findings in the court of law.

Last updated on Wednesday 9th of December 2020 AM