Coastal Police


The Coastal Police Stations are being set up as part of a nation-wide initiative to enhance security along the coastal areas in the background of the Mumbai terror attack. The basic objective of establishing Coastal Police Stations, in various Coastal States and Union Territories is to overcome the limitations of the state Police in terms of needed infrastructure and skilled manpower to exercise their policing jurisdiction effectively in the Territorial Waters (ie. upto 12 nautical miles from the shore). Currently, it is functioning as a three-tier coastal security ring all along the coast ie, Indian Navy, Indian Coast Guard (ICG) and Coastal Police. The Indian Navy is patrolling along International Maritime Boundary Line (IMBL), while the ICG is mandated to carry out patrolling and surveillance up to the Exclusive Economic Zone of India (EEZ) (ie. upto 200 nautical miles from the shore) and the State Coastal Police performs boat patrolling in the shallow coastal area.

The first Coastal Police Station was started at Neendakara in Kollam District in 2009, 18 Coastal Police stations have been setup along the length of Kerala Coast running to 596 KM comprised in 9 Coastal Districts. They are located at Poovar (Thiruvananthapuram Rural District) Vizhinjam (Thiruvananthapuram City District), Anjuthengu (Thiruvananthapuram Rural District), Neendakara (Kollam District), Thottapally (Alappuzha District), Arthungal (Alappuzha District), Fort Kochi (Ernakulam District), Azhikkode (Thrissur Rural District), Munakakadavu (Thrissur City District), Ponnani (Malappuram District), Beypore (Kozhikode City District), Elathur (Kozhikode City District), Vadakara (Kozhikode Rural District), Azheekkal (Kannur District), Thalassery (Kannur District), Bekal (Kasargode District), Thrikkaripur (Kasargode District) and Kumbala (Kasargode District). Kerala Coastal Police is conducting seminars and meetings involving Fishermen Vigilance committees called as &ldquoKadalora Jagratha Samithies.&rdquo There are 74 Kadalora Jagratha Samithies and 2 Kayalora Jagratha Samithies. 177 No.s of Coastal Wardens are selected from the fishermen youth living in the Coastal Area on contract basis for one year.These Coastal Wardens are attached to all the CPSs after having completed 4 Months Training. They are deployed for engaging in the Rescue Operations, Boat Patrolling, Beach Patrolling etc.with the Coastal Police Personnel.

Last updated on Thursday 9th of September 2021 PM