Shri. Anil kant IPS takes charge from Shri. Loknath Behera IPS as State Police Chief

 Shri. Anil kant IPS takes charge from Shri. Loknath Behera IPS as  State Police Chief

Shri. Anil Kant has taken over as the State Police Chief.  Shri. Loknath Behera, the incumbent Chief handed over the reins of power to the new chief at a function held at the Police Headquarters in Thiruvananthapuram. Senior police officers attended the function.

Shri. Anil Kant arrived at the Police Headquarters at 5 PM and offered floral tributes at the Police Martyrs Column to remember the brave policemen who sacrificed their lives while discharging duties. He was then escorted by senior police officials to the State Police Chief's chamber. Incumbent DGP Shri. Loknath Behera received the new chief with a bouquet. After officially handing over the responsibilities, DGP Shri. Loknath Behera bid farewell to his colleagues. The outgoing DGP had earlier reached the Police Martyrs Column and offered floral tributes. Police headquarters staff and officers attended the ceremony.

Shri. Anil Kant, a 1988 batch IPS officer, was elevated from the post of Road Safety Commissioner to the post of State Police Chief. He had started his career in Kerala cadre as ASP in Wayanad and worked as SP in Thiruvananthapuram Rural and Railways. He then became Assistant Director in Intelligence Bureau in New Delhi and Shillong. On his return, he worked as the Kochi City Police Commissioner and as the SP in Malappuram and Ernakulam Crime Branch. He also worked as DIG in Special Branch and Thiruvananthapuram Range and as IG in Special Branch and State Crime Branch. In the meantime he was Additional Excise Commissioner. After his promotion as ADGP, he was the Chairman and Managing Director of the Kerala Police Housing Construction Corporation. He also served as ADGP, State Crime Records Bureau. He also served as Director General of the Fire Force, Battalion, ADGP at Police Headquarters, South Zone and Crime Branch. He has also served as Prison chief, Head of the Vigilance and Anti-Corruption Bureau, and Transport Commissioner.

He has received the President's Police Medal for Distinguished and Meritorious Service.  He received the Commendation and the Badge of Honor in 2018 for successfully organizing the 64th All India Police Games.