Crime Branch, Kerala


Crime Branch is the specialized investigation wing of Kerala Police which investigates cases that are entrusted to it by the State Police Chief or the Government or the High Court of Kerala. They investigate sensational crimes or complicated and serious offences which have state wide ramifications or undetected.

Crime Branch is the Nodal agency for Interpol related matters in the State and conducts verifications or enquiries on behalf of Interpol. Crime Branch is being headed by Additional Director General of Police.

Crime Branch will function in all the Districts in Kerala under the supervision of a Superintendents of Police in each District except in Pathanamthitta, Wayanad and Kasaragod. Pathanamthitta, Wayanad and Kasaragod Districts have no separate SPs for supervision. These Districts will be under the supervision of SP CB Kollam, SP CB Kozhikode and SP CB Kannur respectively.

In addition to the above 11 units, Crime Branch has 4 other Centralized units having jurisdiction all over the state. Of this, CU-I and CU-IV are stationed at Thiruvananthapuram, CU-II at Ernakulam and CU-III at Kozhikode.

For the administrative convenience, Crime Branch in Kerala is broadly divided into three ranges under one Inspector General of Police each with Headquarters at Thiruvananthapuram, Ernakulam and Kozhikode.

Crime Branch Sub Units

Organizational Structure of Crime Branch Kerala

Last updated on 25-02-2018