Modern Police

The re-organisation of the States in India which were formed on the basis of language in 1956 had resulted in the formation of Kerala State on 1st November 1956. Upon the formation of the State of Kerala, Travancore, Cochin and Malabar areas merged though certain parts in those areas were separated. The entire Police Establishment underwent major changes. The total strength of the Kerala Police except M S P and Fire Force in 1956 was 11,312. Certain special powers and functions were given to the Kerala Police by enacting the Kerala Police Act of 1960. The First Women Police Station in India was inaugurated by the then Prime Minister Smt. Indira Gandhi at Kozhikode in 1973. The designation of the Head of Police department was changed to Director General of Police (D.G.P) in 1981. T. AnanthaSankaraIyer became the first D.G.P of Kerala.

Last updated on 06-01-2018